View and edit the URL associated with your site. All sites are published with a default URL, but you can connect your own custom domain from this menu. You can also choose to unpublish your site if you're not ready for the site to be live.
Editing Site URL
Click Site Settings on the left menu.
Once you publish your site, you can customize the default domain name here.
If you already own a domain name, enter that name and click Save.
You will then be shown instructions for setting this up on your domain host.
You can also access specific instructions for several different providers.
Once you have set up your site URL and saved it, you can make changes to your URL information here.
Unpublishing Your Site
You can unpublish a published site by selecting this option.
Note: Unpublishing does not affect your site billing subscription; you will still be charged for your website.
Using a custom domain or buying a domain from Google Domains or another source is recommended in order to have a professional URL. When you purchase from Google or Hover, the domain DNS settings are configured for you automatically.
Websites with custom domains will be prompted to upgrade to a premium account before publishing. Using a custom domain is a premium feature that requires a premium account. If you don't want to sign up for a premium account, you will only be able to use the default domain.